Profile picture for 418483

Mike Morrice

Member of Parliament for Kitchener Centre

Mike Morrice is the Member of Parliament for Kitchener Centre, elected in 2021. Whether working with different levels of government or not for profit organizations, Mike has spent his career bringing people together with a proven record of introducing ambitious ideas along with finding the funds to pay for them.

He is the founder of Sustainable Waterloo Region, co-creator of ClimateActionWR, and piloted Canada’s first Green Economy Hub. This later led to Green Economy Canada and eight Green Economy Hubs across the country, which have enabled hundreds of organizations to both lower their carbon footprint and increase their profitability. He also initiated evolv1, Canada’s first net-positive energy multi-tenant building, which an ambitious group of individuals later brought to fruition

Mike fell in love with the spirit of Waterloo Region while completing a double degree in business and computer electronics at Wilfrid Laurier University. Today, Mike lives on block 2 of the Haldimand Tract, in the Cherry Park neighbourhood of Kitchener. He is an active community volunteer and served on multiple local boards and committees, including Kitchener Housing and the KW Awesome Foundation, while also working as Wilfrid Laurier’s first Social Entrepreneur in Residence. Mike believes in using his platform to amplify the concerns of his community. This includes his commitment to science-based action on the climate crisis, to racial justice, to completing the country’s social safety net through programs like a Guaranteed Livable Income, and to electoral reform.

Mike is inspired by the great things people can accomplish when we genuinely listen to one another, look to find common ground, and prioritize future generations.

Mike was named Young Alumnus of the Year by Laurier (2011), Young Entrepreneur of the Year by the KW Chamber of Commerce (2012), given a Special Citation for Social Entrepreneurship by EY Canada (2018), and was named an Ashoka Fellow in 2012.